I love this little human so much

He is such a bloody rascal. And a cheeky monkey. And a charmer pants. But my god do I love him. 

He makes me laugh – generally when I’m not supposed to. Take bedtime for example. This is when he pulls out all the stops. The other night as we’d finished reading our book and were about to sing night night, he turns around quick as a flash and begins licking my face. I was giddy with laughter. What a cutesy.

And tonight…. to give you background to our bedtime routine of late, I give a quick feed to the boob-lover, which apparently has Red-Bull in it (despite me not consuming any caffeine). Cue Daddy, and within a heartbeat Baby L snuggles in and falls fast asleep. Tonight however, magic Daddy is working so I’m on my own. I did an extra calming bath and bedtime routine and settled down for a snuggle bedtime feed. For a change, Baby L decided not to even contemplate sleep. Eyes wide open, he had a quick suckle then decided he ought to point out everything in the room. So I tried re-reading a book which often calms him down. Nope. So, jiggling it was. I picked him up saying Sleepy Time Night Night, which prompted him to question ‘Dad? Dad? Dad?’ whilst holding his hands upturned out to the side to signify ‘where is’. This continued on for five bloody minutes! ‘Dad? Dad? Dad?’. I managed to hide my amusement for this before he then resorted to pointing out everything in the room again. He’s such a wee clever clogs that even the slightest change to the bedtime routine and he’s onto us!

I got to rock him to sleep for thirty minutes, and it was exhausting but also magical that I got to cuddle and hold the love of my life in my arms. 😍

Leave a comment