Things I’ll never do…

Having studied developmental psychology, having a postgraduate qualification in primary education, and having always surrounded myself with children and childcare, I was pretty certain I would have this parenting malarkey nailed. 

Not so. 

So, for a laugh (at myself in a few years down the line), I thought I’d make a list of Things I’ll Never Do with/to/at my child. He’s 9 months at the moment and so far I have already:

  • Co-slept every night since he was 5-weeks old (after my husband and I were blind with exhaustion due to staying awake in shifts for a baby who WOULD NOT LIE ON HIS BACK IN HIS OWN BED. Trust me, we tried.). 
  • Used a dummy as a pacifier (subsequently the baby rejected it at a few weeks old. If you have the option – force it upon your baby – otherwise, like myself, your nipples will become pacifiers. Ouch.).
  • Given him Calpol as I was ‘pretty sure he has teething pain’. Regardless, it worked and he calmed down. 

Things I still plan on doing/being good at (but fully appreciate this may never be the case having now met my child):

  • Explaining things as fully as possible (for the situation) when he asks ‘Why?’.
  • Not pacifying him by giving him sweets/crisps/toys when he starts to lose his shit in the supermarket.
  • Be relaxed every mealtime and not stress about eating ‘one more spoonful’.
  • Not using TV as a reward. 
  • Not getting stressed out during his meltdowns. 
  • Ensuring he’s well behaved when I take him to restaurants. 
  • Signing with him and expanding our vocabulary to help him communicate. 
  • Take him seriously when he seems ill rather than assume he’s being dramatic. 
  • Be well prepared for all eventualities and have a bag packed full of all the things I need. 

Leave a comment